Executive Decisions

Reading the blog pbfingers.com has inspired me to be consistent and get back to keeping track of my lifestyle and it’s ever-changing flow 🙂

Last week was an extremely tough week for me. With a lot of quizzes, homework, and a presentation, working 3 long shifts at one of my jobs, and being sick of never feeling like I was full after eating so much protein, salad, veggies, fruit, etc. I felt like I was spending $30+ for two days of food. Finally on Thursday I came home almost in tears because I was so hungry after barely eating breakfast (I’m sick of eggs). So I tried to make a raspberry smoothie with the remaining frozen berries I had, almond milk, and ice cubes (kroger was out of bananas when I went to the grocery on Monday) (I told you this week was tough). And after 15 minutes of working on the damn thing it wound up tasteless and wouldn’t even pour out of my blender #firstworldproblems

That night I went to the grocery store completely depleted and starting to realize I needed to make a change to my diet. I wasn’t happy and my body was telling me almost everyday that it was miserable. SO! With that in mind I went to Giant Eagle (kroger is getting the silent treatment since they were out of bananas) and bought a huge thing of bananas and two bags of spinach along with some other necessities like BOGO lays chips (yea). And as I was driving home with one hand on the steering wheel and one hand in the bbq lays bag, I felt nothing but glee. I was making a conscious choice to loosen the reins for myself and nothing had ever made me feel instantly better after a long and awful week.

So with that in mind, here are a few adjustments I have made to MY paleo diet:

  • Being a college student who works three jobs, I have to go for long periods of time without being able to eat a legitimate meal. Even with packing and prepping as much as possible, I still find myself ravenously hungry throughout the day. Because of this I have decided to reincorporate grains back into my diet. I will avoid white flour as much as possible and try to only eat things like oats and quinoa and actual slices of bread when I absolutely know I will need the energy.
  • I have an extreme sweet tooth. I’m not sure what the medical term for this is but whenever I don’t have sugar for a certain period of time I’m prone to feeling lightheaded and murderous. Occasionally I will actually get sick or pass out but that hasn’t happened in a long time. So needless to say I need to incorporate more sugars into my diet.Keeping a lot of fruit around has been helpful and what’s been a lifesaver so far (aside from my mom buying me 2 pints of buckeye blitz from graeter’s…thanks mom) are the chocolate banana almond butter bites my mom and I have been making. I need to always keep those around for when I need a sugar fix.

Tying (spelling?) into that a little bit, I’m really excited to say that I have started my training for the half-marathon that my mom, sister, and I will be doing in a few short months! This morning and all throughout this week I’ll run about 2 miles then this weekend make it 3 miles and keep on building up from there. Another reason I am okay with bringing grains back into my diet; I need to refuel after a run and make it through a long day of classes! So right now I am munching down on some cinnamon oatmeal (about a cup) and one ‘naner.

That’s one thing I love about Julie of pbfingers.com. She exercises and eats an awesome balance of really healthy food and just plain good food. She’s not the paleo snob I thought I had to be at the restaurant who says “can I like, order the sushi but like without the sushi part?” no one likes that person. She exercises, she eats well but she still enjoys herself and delicious food. Like her husband brought her home a tub of their favorite icing in celebration for something that I’m forgetting right now and they went out to dinner and came home and had some spoonfuls of it together before bed. What’s wrong with that? Absolutely nothing.

One thing that Julie also does a lot is take her dog on hikes with her. Now being here in Ohio I’m not lucky enough to have the perfect weather of Florida all year round; however, when it starts to get warmer Hallie Berry and I are going to start hitting the trails!

  • Side note: right as I typed that I heard her sigh on my bed behind me. I turned around to look and she is sprawled out on her back totally passed out

But still! We will persevere!! I can see the book/movie description now:

“A lovely young lady with grace and beauty…and her human owner, go out into the wilderness to explore stuff and work the booty despite just wanting to stay in bed.”

I can’t wait for what the future has in store for me and Halgirl and I can’t wait to keep track of it on here! Until next time!

Leave a Reply

